Paddle Float in Rough Seas Good or Not?

I heard by a 5 star BCU teacher that they discourage people from depending on the paddle float rescue at all. They are of the opinion that in rough conditions, swell, wave, current, that the float will capsize you more often than not. He presented a logical case for having a cockpit that allows a quick cowboy or modified cowboy with stirup recovery, a wet entry and roll up with a float assist, and mutual aid assisted rescues as the only real life way. This is not my opinion, I am posting it to hear if others find this to be true (rough conditions only). His other thought was that paddle float recovery takes too much time and energy especially if the conditions that flipped you cause more capsizes. What do you all think?

Best bet is assisted rescue
I’m not an expert having only taken a couple of rescue classes but I do paddle in big waves and surf zone. I doubt most of the people who post here could do a cowboy in really rough conditions. Having someone to help rescue with their kayak is most efficient way to get back in quick unless you can re-enter and roll. Knowing how to do a paddle float rescue is better than not knowing.

it’s got it’s place
solo paddling when there’s no one to help. re-enter and roll w/ float for assistance. stabilizer for rafting up, especially solo. a few uses.

to depend on it as a rescue option, it’s very low on my list. so is a cowboy scramble, as most folks will have a difficult, if not impossible time doing it in seas. especially cuz it will fail at 80-99% of the way done. Very discouraging to get to ‘almost there’ and have it friggin’ fail. =:-o)

assisted re-entry or re-entry and roll are my mainstay recoveries if the roll might fail. I do carry a PF 90% of the time.

steve

I concur, and…
…would also point out that a wet exit and re-entry should be the LAST option for recovering from a capsize, not the primary one. In order of preference, here’s what one should do when capsized by conditions: