Paddle float

I am looking for a paddle float that does not need inflating. I have found two possible choices.

http://www.rei.com/product/716881

http://www.campmor.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?productId=39281160&memberId=12500226&storeId=226&catalogId=40000000226&langId=-1

Any advice?

I have the Northwater
I started out with this one, used it until I got my first combat roll because I wanted a foam rather than an inflatable if a paddle-float assist method ws going to be necessary for self-rescue. It has worn just great, and has been inval;uable in various uses since like to start the balance brace, things like that. A hand fits inside it quite nicely.

I don’t know of any problem with the other. The only things I see that would give me pause are that the outer material on the pocket is mesh rather than solid fabric, and it looks wider. The Northwater one can be a bit of a problem getting it fit onto a boat, and the wider one might present more of an issue with finding a good secure part of rigging to slide it under.

Floats
My main concern with a float like that would be storage. I suppose you could lash it to the deck or put it under a shock cord but it seems like it would catch a lot of wind.

Also, I recently took a class with a group of kayakers where we practiced wet exits and re-entries. The one student that had a float similar to those you linked to had the most trouble getting back into her boat as it was not as buoyant as the inflatables. Every time she got a leg up on her paddle the float started to submerge.

???
Find a discarded block of styrofoam or a sheet from Home Depot and make your own. You can contour it to fit your boat and provide whatever amount of flotation you need.

rescue technique
no disrespect to your friend, as I haven’t watched her do rescues, but it could be her technique and not the float.