Paddle from front or back seat?

I am new to canoeing. Someone gave me an old aluminum canoe. I would like to fish the bays around Panama City from the canoe. Some of the time I will be fishing by myself. I purchased a set of the Spring Creek stabilizers to try to help with my stability. I have read that a lot of people suggest paddling from the front seat facing the center of the boat to move the weight more to the center. I can not do this because there is a bar right behind the front seat. My question is would I be better off paddling from the front seat or from the back seat? I know that in my old jon boat the trolling motor worked better from the from but I didn’t know if the same principle would apply paddling from the front of a canoe. Any and all advice would be appreciated. I could also use some advice on paddles.

Thanks,

Mark

It is refreshing to see someone who gets
his Spring Creek stabilizers first thing. Maybe you should check out one of their add-in seats and see whether it can be placed near enough to the center of the boat that you can control it when the wind gets up over the inlets. I think a couple of Cannon paddles, each about 58", would suffice for moving you along. Or, you could use a cheap Cannon double blade, or even a Spring Creek rowing rig.

My alternative advice is to check out the paddling.net contest and win one of those sit-on-top fishing kayaks.

My .02

– Last Updated: Mar-06-04 10:28 PM EST –

I have one of those old beasts in my collection. Wouldn't trade it for the world but I understand your problem. I would suggest either getting a seat that hooks to the gunwales, can get them from many canoe companies, or try using a cooler to sit on, a milk crate or a 5 gal bucket. The problem is the bar that you mentioned. I have thought about taking the one out on the bow seat so I could do just what you mentioned but I don't really want to mess around with drilling new holes and riviting in the bar in a different local.