paddle holder

Hi. Does anyone know of, or heard of a kayak paddle holder? I suspect it would consist of a couple of U-shaped things that could be permanently mounted to the deck just forward of the cockpit. Seems like it would be very convenient to have a place to quickly set your paddle when you need both hands free. Looking for a product or manufacturer name. And yes, I’m relatively new to the sport, and still learning!

Thanks,

Steve

paddle clips
available at most paddling stores (I actually got mine at gander mountain) they are small, iexpensive, and hold your paddle securely. I mounted mine on the port side just below the cockpit.

Clips bend and break…
…and things tend to get snagged on them.

A better, more versatile and more durable solution is to make a paddle leash out of a $3 sail tie and keep it coiled around the shaft when you don’t need it. If you need it as a leash, it uncoils in a snap and you slip it on your wrist. If you just want to park your paddle, you uncoil the leash, slip the end ball under a deck bungee and drop the paddle in the water.

You can see an example of this leash setup in my Kayak Gear album on Webshots at:

http://community.webshots.com/user/brian_nystrom

If you don’t want to make your own, Campmor sells a similar leash for ~$9.

On Line
Ocean Kayak has them. For a sit inside kayak, they can be installed with nuts and bolts, but on an SOT they may require pop (blind) rivets, which require pop rivet gun.

Blind rivets are handy, but don’t get too crazy.

Paddle 'Biners Also?
Hey Brian,

Does that go for paddle 'biners as well? I’ve kept my NRS paddle 'biner on my deck rigging for some time, use it once in a while to hold my paddle, but never had any problems. I figured it avoided the whole “leash or not to leash” issue (or maybe not).

Lou

Had them, but
have to agree with Brian. They do break, and can cause trouble with re-entries and snagging other gear.