Paddle lenght question

Hi there I have a concern about the paddle length of the werner Shuna.

I checked the size chart for the high angle werner paddles, and it seems that if i’m 5’9.5", the best paddle length should be 210cm if my boat’s width is under 26", and 215cm if my boat is over 26". My kayak is exactly 26" in width(lol). So I’m wondering if those 5cm will make any difference at all? and should I get the longer paddle?

Get a 2 piece adjustable NM

Exactly
Paddle length recommendations from websites are only a starting point. Adjustable length is the way to go.

What’s an NM? And why needed?

It’s personal
Some ppl prefer longer, some shorter. Shops usually don’t let you demo paddles, but if you know other paddlers try some different lengths.

If you’re starting out, the 5cm difference wont matter much.

yeah I wanted to test a few paddles, but haven’t had luck, most people I know use long paddles :confused:

But yeah I’m basically a beginner so maybe I’ll adapt to whatever size I choose.

spendy but…
i agree with the others in regards to adjustable length. if you are serious about kayaking, spend the money on an adjustable Epic paddle. they are incredible, and you won’t regret it (after the price shock wears off…)

NM=No message
This is a no brainer! Not sure of the length you want? Get a two piece paddle with length and feather adjustment.

bb
I thought bending branches made an adjustable ferrel. Get a decent paddle at first no need to blow it out. Error on longer at first, the next paddle can be the right one. Another option, is to sit in your boat and put a paddle in the water and put your off hand in front of your face. Note where the shaft is and then add blade size to your measurement.

Ryan L.

Length vs. Cadence