Paddle length for 6'3 & kayak 32 inches wide

Hi everyone. So I have a 32 inch wide Airvolution AE3029 and I am 6’3. There are many charts that show the proper paddle for certain height people and width kayaks. But none of the charts address my particular situation. What length should I get? I am pasting a typical example of a chart that does not help me. I called Airvolution and they just said to look on the internet. Also, my current paddle is 237 cm, and it does not feel right.

Thanks

What about the paddle does not feel right? What brand & model paddle are you using?

1 Like

Then buy a 250 cm.

I agree with Hank. Do you know what a paddle should feel like? I have zero experience with inflatables so I don’t know what you are feeling.
I’ve often seen 250 paddles recommended, but a 240 puts more stress in my shoulders so I use a 220 or 230 based on the boat width.

250 I don’t think Vikings used paddles that long.

1 Like

But Im not a viking.

I have a 240 cm. The 250 cm is better. 220s and 230s feel like my elbows are tied to my waste. 250 isn’t for everybody.

Thanks for the info and I am going to try 250 cm and see if that feels better.

In response to the two questions of kayakhank: I am using the paddle that came with the kayak and I can’t exaplain what does not feel right. It has been decades since I did a lot of kayaking. I am having fun with a new kayak, but I do not experience the feeling of “oneness” between myself, the kayak, and the water that I remember from kayaking 20 years ago. Of course there could be other explanations like that I am not in the condition that I was in then. But I am defininetly going to give a longer paddle a try.

That oneness for me is created by seat time. Your body and brain need to learn how the boat moves so you can move with it instead of resisting.

1 Like