Paddle Length for Sea Kayaking????

Hi,

This is kind of a follow up to another post I had made.

I am trying to determine which is the best paddle for me for sea kayaking, however, I think probably I need to find out what is the best length first. Someone made some suggestions on my last post but I would like to get a few more opinions before making a decision.

I am 5’8, have pretty broad shoulders, weigh 180 pounds, and paddle a Wilderness Systems Cape Horn 170 which is 23 inches wide.

What is the best paddle length for someone like me?

I generally prefer more of a high angle stroke (although I occasionally do use some low angle strokes too).

My current paddle is a 220 which I imagine is a bit long for me.

What do you think is a good paddle length for me???

Paddle Length?
I am also a beginner, 5’8" very broad shouldered and weigh 195. I paddle a Swift Bering Sea with a 23.5" beam. I started with a 230cm paddle which has been fine over the past year. I recently picked up a used, but heavy 220cm paddle which I’ve noticed allows me better rotation when paddling (my hands reach or slightly cross over the centerline of the kayak with this paddle). My paddling angle does not change all that much when I switch between the 230 and the 220, but I think my stroke improves slightly when using the 220. I find myself favoring the heavier, shorter paddle now. That said, I am looking at 215 or 220 for my next paddle, but would not consider a 215 without trying it first given the width of my boat. Hope this helps.

wetzool

should not be a problem at all if you use high angle and body rotation (a good thing) with your strokes.

sing

I like a 215

– Last Updated: Oct-04-04 12:07 AM EST –

and for that kind of wide boat you might too.

Lots of advanced sea kayakers go fron about 205 to 215, with more in the higher half of that spectrum than the lower.

Derek Hutchinson likes to go around 230-240.