Paddle length help

I just bought my first touring kayak and am undecided what paddle length to buy. I’ve been to the Werner website but their suggestions aren’t very specific. They suggest 220-240!

I’m a veteran whitewater boater but a novice to touring kayaks. I just bought a Perception Sonoma 13.5 which I believe is 22" wide(??) I’m 5’2" and will be doing mostly river touring. Any suggestions?

You CAN determine the best for you!
No one can or should tell you what length is right but you.

Why? Paddle length is the interaction of your unique torso and arm length, your boat width and seat height and how vertical an angle you like to paddle and how much you rotate your torso.

The most efficient length is one that is NO LONGER than is necessary for you in your boat with your torso rotated and the paddle at an angle that is the highest angle you would use for a powerful stroke and it should be no longer than it takes to have the whole blade in the water and NO more.

Get paddle of several lengths. Get in your boat with your seat and place yourself in the start position with your torso rotated in the manner in which you actually paddle.

Place the paddle in the water with arm extended but not locked.

The whole blade should be in the water BUT NO MORE. If more, too long a paddle, if not all in, need longer one.

This is your “home base” from there you can vary the length plus or minus 5 cm to suit your taste style. If you like power paddling go with 5 cm shorter, if mostly low angle paddler you can use a slightly longer paddle.

A longer paddle feels intuitively better at first because unconsciously we use our paddles for stability while we are learning to balance better in our new boat. However, even a slightly longer paddle than necessary will reduce efficiency markedly and will be harder to handle in big conditions. Many many paddlers out there still have paddles anywhere from 10-20 cm too long for them.

Evan

Been changing