Paddle length.

I am new to kayaking and bought a Pungo 120 today after trying out several last week. I bought a 220 cm paddle.

I took it out today and the paddle feels short to me but I really do not know what it is supposed to feel like. I am 6’1". Is the 220 a pretty standard length for most people? What determines correct paddle length?

Personally
I prefer a longer 230cm paddle. My boat is a bit wider in the coppit area ,but it seems paddle what ya like . Maybe try more if ya can.

I like shorter
I use 215s and may go even shorter, but I use a higher angle stroke. 230 is fine with a lower stroke angle. 220 is a pretty standard beginner length. What kind of paddle is it? I have a 230 Lendal that I may swap.

The Pungo is a wide boat…
…which is why the paddle feels a bit short. If you try it in a narrower boat, it will probably feel fine. It’s possible that you’ll need a longer paddle in the Pungo. Or you can wait to see if you end up switching to a narrower, higher performance boat, which is a very common occurrence.

Paddle length is all relative
I use many different paddles of different sizes.

In a CD Breeze (rec boat) I use a 230cm

In a NDK Poseidon I use 213cm

In a Tempest 180 I use 214cm

I just ordered a 215cm Shuna paddle will arrive in a week or so.

Point being, the length of the paddle is determined by the beam of your boat, deck height of your boat, your physical size, personal preference, etc.

Good luck, sorting through all of this and finding the right paddle!

Wade

The Shorter the Paddle
the sweeter the stroke.

(somebody had 2)

Try out and keep