Paddle Pulling or Pushing

Let me preface this by letting you know that I am a newbie, so please pardon me if I don’t use the correct terminology here.

I have noticed that some of you will refer to “pulling” the blade that is in the water when you paddle. The way that I was shown is that the majority of your force should come from the hand that is opposite the blade that is in the water by pushing forward like a lever. Something like 70% pushing forward and 30% pulling back. The logic being that it is easier to push than to pull, though when I do this it feels more like 90% push/10%pull.

My questions are: Was I told wrong? Is there something that I’m not getting?

I know you can’t really critique my technique without seeing it, though I’m sure that it looks something like a retarded monkey slinging his fecies. Just wondering if there is something else to this whole push/pull thing.

push/pull
this technique generally gets you an ‘all arms’ stroke with a very short effecient zone. the paddle tends to scoop down then scoop up.

the idea is to use more rotation and less push/pull.

check the archives for ‘tons’ of info.

steve

proper mechanics
the most efficient and powerful stroke is developed through torso rotation. done correctly, there is little if any push or pull.

YES