Paddle recommendation

-- Last Updated: Apr-10-14 9:59 AM EST --

Hi, I am new to Kayaking and want to buy my first paddle. I am planning on buying an Old Town Camden 120. I am 5'10" with a 28.5 in wide by 12.5 foot long kayak. I would be mainly on flat water for rec use and some fishing. Also what length would I need?
Thank you.

Don’t go cheapo
But you also don’t need to spend all that much. For a really good all fiberglass paddle that is built right, my best recommendation is the Carlisle Expedition at the suggested retail price of $159. Some Internet shopping might find it at a price closer to a hundred bucks.

If you can, you should go to a genuine kayak store and look at a lot of paddles and try to get a good grip on what length fits you and your boat.

Believe me, you will have a tough time finding a better paddle for the money than the Carlisle Expedition.

Check out the Bending Branches
double enders too. I don’t think you can go wrong there and they have three “level$” to chose from. Their light weight, blade shape and surface area are excellent to reduce fatigue. The higher end Werner paddles are great, cost justified IMHO ;-]

Online Guides are Good
The online guides the paddler manufactures make are pretty good at making recommendations.

You probably should look at a low-angle touring paddle with a standard diameter straight shaft 220cm to 230cm (I would probably go with the 220cm). Paddles with adjustable feathering is pretty standard on most quality paddles and you can also find some that allow you to slightly adjust the length.

My first paddle was a Werner Skagit FG IM ($130 35oz) and something like that is what I consider a good starting paddle but you don’t want to go cheaper than that. Stepping up to a Werner Camano ($275 28.25oz) is a very noticeable difference.

Most of the paddles you are going to get recos for here are good choices. Go with the one the fits your budget and weighs the less.

Epic Active hybrid