Paddle Selection Help

I am new to kayaking and have purchased a Tsunami 165. I need a paddle now. I am on a budget and would not want to to spend more than 140.00. Looked at the the Werner Skagit, Aquabound Stingray, Bending Branches Sunrise GS and the Pacific Designs T-1.

Which would you prefer and why. Have pity on a newbie.

Have you had a chance to try any?

– Last Updated: Feb-08-10 4:16 AM EST –

If there's any chance you can get out and try several different paddles with your boat, that would be your best opportunity to see what feels good to you. So much depends on not only your boat, but the kinds of water/conditions you want to explore, your own "paddling personality", etc. If you have friends who paddle, perhaps you can try some of their paddles as well. If you have a chance, definitely try some Greenland Paddles! If you like that style, you can easily carve your own for *very* little money.

When I first started, it was just assumed that I would want a "Euro" style paddle (as opposed to what I prefer now, a Greenland paddle), so after trying a few, my first paddle was a Werner San Juan (pretty big blades). A well made paddle, and I really enjoyed using it for a few years...right up to the moment that I tried my first Greenland paddle. That was it...from that moment on, I've only used GPs (it's been about 10 years now). Looking back, I would have been very happy to have just started with a GP.

About the cost...

Once you've tried a variety of paddles, and have some idea of your first preferences, why not look for a used paddle? Just as with boats, you can get much more paddle for your money if you purchase used; and it's good recycling, and enables the seller to get whatever other gear they might be looking for by selling their paddle.

Let us know what you've tried, and how they feel to you, and we might be able to come up with all kinds of ideas for you (and by then, you'll have some pretty good ideas of your own).

Melissa

Stingray is nice