Paddle types

Hey all! Newbie here. I have been canoeing since I was a kid. However, I am a novice when it comes to proper gear. I currently Dubuque Iowa and have been doing bigger and bigger canoe trips. Now that I have been doing multiple-day canoeing/camping trips on the Mississipi, gear suddenly makes a big difference!

My first question is canoe paddle types. I see the different types of paddles out there for rivers and lakes. However as the Mississippi is a bit of both, I was wondering what folks recommendations would be for paddle best suited for a several day trip on the Mississippi.

I’m certain I will have many more questions in the near future. Thanks for any tips!

Not a canoe expert. But I think that river paddles are made for moving water paddling (some level of white water), where lake paddles are made for calm water paddling. The Mississippi in your area I believe is basically a series of locked lakes, so would seem that lake paddles would more likely be the appropriate category to look at

I live on the Mississippi and work for a paddle company, so I’ve got a few thoughts on this.

In general for lakes I like a smaller blade, but for the river when you really just need to move across the channel, or even go upriver for a bit, a bigger blade can really help a ton, especially when you’re dodging barges. edit to add: I’ve also had a couple days where the wind just howls up the river too, so even paddling downstream can be hard to make any progress when it’s like that