Paddle

Helloe,

I just bought an Old Vapor 10 and was wondering what lenght paddle I should go with. I’m 6’6" and have went kayaking twice in the past. From what I’ve read I was thinking either a 230 or 240. I’ll probably be mostly on lakes and occasionally on rivers. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

Werner’s Fit Guide
Look here:

http://www.wernerpaddles.com/fit_guide/

I am your size and use a 230 in
my Tarpon 160 and my Rapidfire canoe. I have 37-38" sleeve length.

Even shorter might suit. I’m about as
tall as you and very tall in the torso, and a 215 is plenty for me. But I have a high angle paddling style aquired from whitewater.

210 to 215 for me
I’m a regular sized 5’10" person with 34 inch sleeves.

I use a higher angle paddling style most of the time.

paddling style
I think for what I’ll be doing I’d be a low angle. I’m still learning all the lingo, but for lakes and slow water cruising that seems like what I would be doing. Maybe I’m wrong on this so what would you guys suggest for paddling style and paddle length? If I was low angle I’d go 230 or 240 and high angle probably 220. the boat itself is 28.5" wide too.

If you were next door, I’d try to sell
you my 240 cm Camano, slightly used. Wasn’t long enough for canoeing.

Re paddling style
It’s a function of your paddling technique, not where you paddle (unless you race, where a high angle style is the only way to go).

That said, I’d hazard a guess that most people who start out paddling without hooking up with someone like Ben Lawry or a lot of the bigger name coaches will tend to paddle low angle.

Take a look on the web at some of the info on high angle stroke, see how it compares to what you are doing.

don’t go too long