Paddler Weight

I’m new to kayaking, took lessons, and am now wanting to purchase the liquidlogic remix9. I am at the top of the max. weight but the kayak fits nicely. I do not intend to load the kayak with extra gear (camping etc.). I like the weight of the boat for hefting it around and the length. The Remix10 seems a little big.

Question: How does being at the top of the max paddler weight affect paddling and safety?

Thanks!

MCS

weight
In general, the closer the boat is loaded to its max weight capacity, the less stable it will be. As for the Remix, you are going to lose a lot of the boats performance and capability. The 10 was built for paddlers of your size, so I recommend the 10. There is no cost difference, so run with it and forget it’s available in a 9 foot. It’s a beautiful, awesome boat. You should be happy with it for many years.

What color are you going with? I want it in Green Hornet.

Why so short a boat?
If you are new to kayaking then why are you getting a slow 9 or 10 foot boat. The shortest I’d recommend is 12 or 14 feet for a first boat. My first boat was short too, but it was a mistake. Short boats are really really slow. Long boats are no that hard to turn.

I’d only get the boat you are mentioning for serious white water and I’d want to have a good roll and the 10 foot model.

If you plan to paddle is in easy rivers and flat water you will be disappointed.

before you buy
It was a mistake for me to buy a new boat bfore I had tried out different boats. There are people who buy a boat this week and sell it cheap a month from now. Most buy a boat that is so wide it does not go far. Maybe you will buy used chaep and graduate to narrower and faster.

I’ll 2nd that

Expectations