Paddles...????

http://tinyurl.com/zmtjq

heres a link for a The Stearns® Performance kayak paddle. has any one used this one before? it doesnt state what the blade is made of. major concern for me. im just starting out but im not wanting a paddle thats going to give out in 6 mnths either. thanks…

scott

Paddles

– Last Updated: Apr-26-06 10:29 AM EST –

There have to be places to look at paddles in Charlston. Go to a few kayak stores and look at a few paddles. Go to Sports Authority and look at this paddle.

In my opinion, it's too cheap ($60) to be a great paddle. The big problem will be weight. It will probably last a long time. I'm guessing that the shaft is aluminum. We don't know the length or the feathering.

As a rough guide, good paddles start at about $120. You can spend much more but you don't need to.

Check out a wooden Bending Branches paddle.

Also, what kind of boat are you paddling and how often do you paddle.

more info
i only paddle maybe 6 times a yr. theres about 9 of us that take 3 day trips either in SC, NC, or Fl. i have victory class 12 boat. im not that serious into it just having some fun. but im wanting a paddle thats going to last

scott

I Was Going
to point out that the paddle that you are interested in is pretty long and pretty heavy. At 95 inches it is 241cm and at 2lbs 12oz it is heavy.

However, you added a second post and told us that you are really only interested in longevity and will use it only a couple of times a year. With your clairification my observations may not matter.

In terms of longevity I’d imagine that it might be more rugged than some of the high tech paddles used by many on this board.

Happy Paddling,

Mark

It should be adequate.
Unless you are trying to cut firewood with the thing, it should be adequate for paddling. The simple fact is, a $60.00 paddle is not the same as one that is a $100 more. PVC/aluminum versus Carbon Fiber or Fiber Glass construction means more weight and less durability.