Paddling a white water kayak

Just bought a new Dagger Mamba 8.5 and tried it today for the first time, I have been paddling rec Kayaks for 3 years and need to know, what is the secret to keep a white water kayak going straight? I actually have better luck in a an area with little current than I do in an area with almost no current. Any advice will be a help. I was getting better by the end of the day but was wondering if there is a trick, that I do not know, or if it just takes practice and time

WW kayaks DO go straight…
In white water…

They are a PITA on still water…

You’re using the wrong boat for the job.

(But you’ll get a good workout doing 10 lake miles in a WW boat… I know… :wink:

Edge, Body Balance & Stroke
I don’t know where you are located, but the best $$ you can spend now that you have a cool boat (btw…I have the same boat)is on LESSONS. Hopefully you have a friend that you will be paddling with. Two would be better, as it usually takes two besides yourself for a rescue, and if you paddle WW, you will need rescued.

To go straight, plant the paddle at a vertical angle forward and pull just to your hip (power is wasted after that), now feel the boat want to turn and keep your center of gravity over the center of the boat while edging with your hips to correct the turn. Now repeat on the other side. Bottom line. You want the boat to turn.

Congrats on the purchase. You are gonna love it.

Jay

p.s. LESSONS!

Thank you
Yes thank you for the advice I have a class coming up in July, but I couldn’t wait to get this “toy” out on the water. I always paddle with friends and especially when I am trying a new boat,

Front half of the boat