Paddling Alone - Part II

I am a newbie and posted a few weeks ago on this subject. Lots of great – and encouraging – responses. Thanks.

Things have changed. I am now into whitewater kayaking as opposed to rec/touring which was the subject of the previous post. I took the advice of folks at my local paddling club and got some professional instruction (2 full days on a local river). I have – or am in the process of accumulating all of the necessary equipment. The same folks at my local paddling club now tell me that I am not sufficiently skilled to join them on their “Beginner Series” outings. They are probably right. I would rate my skills at about 0.2 on a scale of 10.0. (I am however in the 9.0 – 10.0 range with the wet exit because I get to “practice” it quite often.) They say that I need more “experience.” They’re right again.

I am now in the position of needing experience, but my local paddling club has no place for me (I begin to ask why I bothered to join) and I have only one friend who paddles. He is very experienced and would, I assume, humor me every now and again, but would not be willing to spend serious time watching me deal with the “basics.” That leaves me with only one option as far as I can see:

Buy some instructional videos and get out there and do it ALONE. In other words, teach myself.

1. I plan to go to a local lake and, at a spot not far from the boat launch area, teach myself how to roll. I see no other options for acquiring a roll.
  2. I will paddle in a local creek. It has flowing water and Class I/II “bumps.” Nothing serious. There are some fishing holes with depths above one’s waist. Nothing more.

I don’t see any other options. I am getting into this sport at an advanced age and, it being only June, do not want to waste the first of my remaining years. Plan B is to say “screw this,” and forget the whole thing.

Comments?

Where are you?

– Last Updated: Jun-26-07 11:54 AM EST –