Paddling Alone

I am new at this. I have joined my local paddling club, but have few “connections” yet. I want to get out there, but have been advised to not go alone. I will be in a calm lake or a gentle river with, at most Class I water. Whaddya think, can I do this alone for a while?

Alone

– Last Updated: May-30-07 3:31 PM EST –

John Dowd says in his book something like "don't paddle alone, but if you do don't tell anyone"...

I do paddle alone fairly often but not on anything even close to Class I, being a sea kayaker. I usually paddle small lakes or a slow river where I don't need a shuttle (one-person shuttle is a hassle). Big water is far enough away that I can usually find a group to paddle with.

Should you do this, especially as a beginner? Only you can answer this. I'd try to steer you towards making some contacts with the club, but every situation is different. Water temperature and how you dress has a lot to do with the risk. How familiar are you with this?

paddling alone
I do it because i can’t always find a paddle partner. Let someone know where you are going and take a phone or vhf radio. Vaughn Fulton

Just do it. Take it easy at first,
stay close to shore. As said above, let someone know where you’ll be and when you expect to be back. Wear you PFD. Dress appropriately for the weather and water temps.

New at what?

– Last Updated: May-30-07 3:49 PM EST –

Paddling or contemplating paddling alone? Where do you live? What kind of boat do you have? What kind of clothing do you wear? Do you have any self rescue skills? What's the water temp? Is the water frequented by other people? ETC...