Paddling around Paul Smiths College

I am currently a student at paul smith college in upstate new york. I know that there are many place to paddle around there a wanted to know where are some of the better places to go, since there are many places and I would like to know the best ones. Thanks.

get the paddler’s map
If you purchase the ADK paddling map, available locally, you’ll see that you are surrounded by too many places to even list!

For starters and only a few mile away -

Osgood Pond up the Osgood River

Black Pond

Little Clear Pond

St. Regis Lakes

Mountain Pond

Also be sure to visit the Interpretive Center for beautiful hiking trails!

Map
One thing that may not be so obvious if you are not familiar with reading this type of map, is in which direction the current flows between ponds. In general the rivers flow north in this part of the ADks. You should really check out Jamieson’s “Adirondack Canoe Waters, North Flow” book.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0935272437/qid=1137073870/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl14/104-3232261-3413560?n=507846&s=books&v=glance

Paul Smiths area paddling
Put in at Church pond paddle to Osgood pond and up the Osgood river! Also try putting in at the outlet of Mecham lake on Rt 30, paddle up the outlet into the lake and then up the Osgood river to the right. There are some cool ponds to explore in that area. That is a good paddle.

Another paddle a little further north is The Salmon River. Go North toward Duane NY. Turn on Rt 99. Go to Duane Rd turn North. Go all the way to Chasm Falls Dam. Launch at the park, paddle up stream. This is a nice paddle in the summer with low current. Not many people do this stream. Check out USGS Quad Owls Head NY.

And I live in Virginia !

Is there life west of the Chesapeake Bay ?

Paul Smith’s area paddling
There is nothing but great paddling near Paul Smiths. Immediate area is maybe a bit short on whitewater opportunities but you’ll still never tire or run out of great destinations.