Paddling in Alaska

Hello,

I want to take an extended kayaking trip to alaska next spring to early summer. Can anyone please advise or give any tips on where I could go, and what I could expect. I use to be a flat water kayak and canoe racer, along with some open ocean surf ski distance races. I’m new to the world of touring, and really serious on touring some of Alaska’s coastline. If anyone can recommend trips or routes… any info would be appreciated.

-thanks-

Check with these guys
http://www.alaskakayakschool.com/

We just returned from Alaska

– Last Updated: Sep-02-04 2:12 PM EST –

If you are interested we have some pictures posted from our trip. http://connert.smugmug.com
There are lots of places to paddle but what I recommend are the various fjords. We did Northwestern Fjord and it was wonderful. The outfitters we chose were excellent (I don't have there names here at work but if you are interested send me an email and I will give you details). One problem you will encounter almost everywhere is that they will try to talk you into paddling a double. Be persistent and you will get a single.

Backcountry Safaris
does excellent tours in Aialik Bay of Kenai Fjords. They do trips up to seven days long, provide single kayaks (CD Storms)(make sure you specify that you want a single), cook all the food (plenty to eat and nice meals) and provide drysuits. Aialik Bay is gorgeous with tons of wildlife and calving glaciers, it is true wilderness. The distances paddled each day are not long, but that’s not what this sort of paddling is all about. I went at the end of June, so we got to paddle twice a day with 20 hours of daylight. I got all the paddling I needed. Bug jacket and pants recommended.

Aialik Bay is beautiful
It would be an excellent choice. It is larger than Northwestern and attracts more tour boats but is a truly great place to paddle.

We paddled all over Alaska…
for four months last summer.

If you want to see some pictures check out-