Paddling issues

Hi, I am quite new to kayaking. Recently I bought gumotex pneumatic kayak.I’ve been kayaking with my partner on some lakes and small rivers. Everything is great other than my paddling technique. For some reason when I paddle kayak goes slightly left. I watched a lot of vids and read quite a bit, but I don’t know what to do with that. It is bothering me because my partner has to correct it while paddling. Does anyone has any advices? I am quite desperate…

Edit: my post was flagged as a spam…

Are you right handed?

To add power on the left, try pushing with your right hand in addition to pulling with your left when you stroke on the left.

Yes, I am right handed. Thank’s for your tip :slight_smile:

Common problem at first, and matches your being right handed.
I don’t know the boat in terms of foot braces. But another thing that will help keep your paddling centered is to push on the foot brace while the arm is bringing the paddle back. Pushes your hip back a smidge so any built in tilt is less so. And we all have one after a few decades of using our body.

Thank’s for your advice. It is comforting to read that it is a common problem. I will try to do my best. I hope that with more exercise and experience I will get better :slight_smile:

Is this a tandem paddling situation?
If so, are you in the front or in the back of the tandem kayak?
Or are you paddling the kayak solo and it always goes slightly left?

Yes, it is a tandem kayak. I am sitting in the front. We tested this in different situations. It occurres when I am paddling by myself and when we both paddle. When my partner paddles by himself it doesn’t happen.

Insure that you are holding the paddle centered left to right and you are not reaching out farther on the right. If this is not the case, then shift the paddle center slightly to left which will correct the tendency to go left.