Paddling magazines

What paddling magazines do you folks read? I am a canoer & kayaker, and am not very interested in sliding down waterfalls. I am more into tripping and canoe camping. I got a mag subscription for Christmas last year, and am thinking about trying something different. Any suggestions?

Thanks Jim

Kanawa and Adventure Kayak…
Two excellent Canadian mags. (Don’t forget, we invented the sport…)

Canoeroots
And don’t forget Adventure Kayak magazines sister publication, Canoeroots…they are going Quarterly for next year.

Cheers…Joe O’

Kanawa
that and Sea Kayaker seem to be among the few that actually have good articles and info. “Paddler”, “Canoe and Kayak” and the like are a mess. nothing but advertising and very little about the sport written by people who actually engage in it.

Not true.
I agree with you on most of your point but you missed the facts about who writes the articles.

In fact they are hard core paddlers both in the canoeing, kayaking, extreme, expedition, adventure and racing catagory.

Alan Kesselheim: Argueably the best outdoor writer of the 21st century. Author of major paddling bestsellers. Has completed two 400+days paddling trips as well as hundreds of others.

Cliff Jacobson: The grandfather guru of paddling and author of 20+ books on the subject. Has done dozens of major paddling expeditions.

Larry Rice: Uhhhh I think he is always paddling somewhere in the world.Not sure how he finds the time to even write for these mags.

Tom Bol- Ditto

Eugene Buchanan(sp?) Editor of Paddler Mag…well I think his job is an excuse to say that he actually has a job. Hes always paddling even in the snow!

Well I could go on… If you look at one of the requirements for writting for Paddler and Canoe and Kayak is that you are familiar with your topic i.e into the sport etc.