Paddling Solo

I’m relatively new to kayaking…and looking to buy my first boat this spring. I’ve done some paddling with tours on vacation and rented a couple of times with my wife. Now that I’m ready to take that next step and buy a boat, is it wise to paddle by myself or should I alway be looking for a parnter to go with? I have decent “beginner” skills, but have never taken lessons so to speak. I’m dying to get out on the water, but I’m afraid I may not always be able to go with someone else. Can I paddle alone safely???

skills, training, and equipment

– Last Updated: Apr-21-08 1:30 PM EST –

I wouldn't consider going alone unless you have very strong self-rescue skill and appropriate equipment to allow you to handle a while in the water (clothing appropriate for water temps, PFD, etc.).

I do paddle alone from time to time, but am much more conservative in where I go and what I do. I stay closer to shore and/or in areas where there would be other boats around to help me, and avoid activities that may be more risky (no surfing or rock gardening). And I only go in conditions that I know I can get back into my boat should something happen.

Alone or not, I always wear a wet suit and PFD (water is cold here in NorCal), so those aren't in question.

It depends
Really depends on your location, water bodies available, water temperature, etc. Think about all the different scenarios that could occur. Can you handle them?

Obviously situations with warm, non-moving water, and in a populated area are relatively mundane.

I forgot to add…
I’ve pretty much progressed my skills being solo. I was in your “boat” not too long ago. I started with flat water, moved to moving water, and have progressed up to class I/II rapids.

Find a local club