Paddling Tandem

I have been solo kayaking for years, but just got a great deal on a tandem. I plan on taking my husband out soon and want to know what the best technique is for paddling a tandem is without having WW III begin.

Paddle in sync on the same side
of the boat. I like the stronger paddler in the rear but I have heard mixed opinions on this. Let the rear paddler steer and the front paddler set the tempo.

This works for my wife and me. Hope you have fun.

Buy a tandem…
…with the cockpits far enough apart that you don’t have to paddle in sync. Otherwise, they’re known as ‘divorce boats’.

Lessons Learned
My wife and I have been paddling a tandem for several years. I am by far the more experienced paddler, and heavier too. With this in mind, we find it best for me to sit in back, and my wife to sit in front. The advantages:

Heavier person is in back. Otherwise, kayak wants to rotate.

Experienced/stronger paddler (me) is in back.

Front paddler does “her thing” while rear paddler tries to keep in synch with her. This is best way to avoid banging paddles.

Rear paddler can still handle boat while front paddler takes “time out”

There are times when it is best for me to sit in

front:

To demonstrate certain paddling techniques. Careful! Don’t preach or criticize here!

Balance the boat going into wind/waves. Heavier person in front is better in such conditions.

After I’ve splashed her too many times.

On open lakes, trim (weight balance)is very important. Otherwise, tracking can be a serious problem. If tracking on lakes becomes a problem, consider the rudder kit, if available.

Oh, it would also be helpful for each person to take the boat out solo once in a while, just to get used to how it handles without you in it. Rear seat most likely.

twosome harmony?