Paddling Technique

Hi,

I am brand new to paddling, 1 week, and I am trying to work on my paddling technique but I am having a couple of problems that I would like some help with. I am sure both problems are related to each other but I can’t figure it out. First problem: While paddling I tend to constantly turn left. I’ve tried everything I can think of: making sure my paddle strokes are even, ensuring I am sitting level in the boat but I still find myself going left. I can remedy the problem by lowering the skeg in my Tempest 170 but I would like to be able to paddle straight without it. Second problem involves leaning turns. I have no problem leaning to the right and turning left but have a difficult time turning right by leaning left. When I lean to the left, the boat turns left. Any ideas?

Thanks

it could be a couple of things
first there is a very very very slight possibility that the kayak has a manufacturing flaw and passed QC anyway.

I can think of a few things right off the top of my head that might be causing the issue by themselves or combined with one another. First, I am going to assume you are right handed. If you aren’t then forget everything below. If you are right handed then you are probably favoring your right side by sitting heavier on your right butt cheek. Sitting heavier on one side will edge the kayak (even if you are completely centered in the kayak - in fact, this is how you should be edging). You are probably stronger on your right side which means you are paddling with more effort on the right even without being aware of it. It could also be that the right blade is entering the water fairly perpendicular and staying that way for the stroke on the rightside, but your left blade is entering at an angle or turning to an angle while taking a stroke on the left side. Your hands could also be off center with more of your paddle extending to the right than left.