Paddling the Florida keys!

Im planning a trip to paddle from key largo to key west. The Internet says 10 days for the trip. The keys are 120 miles long, so 12 miles a day in a 16’ wilderness systems tarpon. Is this crazy or casual? Any ideas or advice is welcome, I’m a newbie!

It can be fun or it can be a disaster!
Depending on the wind conditions

We are in Key Largo right now and winter here in the Keys.

We know the entire length of the Keys like the back of our hands.

Your longest open water crossing will be paralleling the seven mile bridge.

Pay attention to weather reports. You would not have accomplished your goal in the past two weeks. The wind has been high out of the east almost every day.

The upper Keys run from the north east to the south west, so either side is good if you have light winds.

Once you get to Big Pine Key you’ll have to paddle in the Atlantic or go way out and around Big Pine and a half dozen more Keys in Florida Bay so pray for wind out of the west or light out of the east.

If the weather gods are with you, you can easily do twenty mile days.

A few years ago training for the Everglades challenge we would do fifty milers from Bahia Honda to Boca Chica and back

Will you be stealth camping ?

If you are, that can turn into a disaster unless you know in advance where you will be staying.

Good luck and have fun

Jack L

Still planning
I’m shooting for May '16. I want to camp as much as possible. I’ve never been to the keys so I’m planning on getting some guide books soon to start planning a route. So yet again I welcome any tips and advice!!!

A couple more things:
I almost forgot:

-Time your paddles to go with the tides. It will be a lot less work.

• If you go under any of the bridges from the Atlantic into Florida Bay, depending on the tides and winds the areas closest to the Keys can be a washing machine.