Paddling to the Yellowstone Thorofare

I would like to know if anyone here has paddled to the south end of Yellowstone Lake? A friend and me are planning a trip to the Thorofare next summer and would appreciate any advice or information.

I’ve been paddling in Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons for a few years now. My wife and I own recreational kayaks so we usually hug the shorelines and take our time so this would be something new. I know how rough Yellowstone Lake can be on a windy afternoon but all of my experience there has been in the West Thumb, the good side of the lake as far as wind goes.

I’m not a tri-athlete or anything like that, but I think I’m reasonably fit for my age (late 50s). And I’ve never even paddled a real touring kayak but have found a place in Jackson that rents them. But I would also love to have an excuse to buy one, so this could be it.

We would probably embark from Sedge Bay. My map shows that’s 18 miles from the south end of the South Arm.

So far starters, it is reasonable to think we could do that in a day?

There’s no open water crossings on our route but we would be on the wrong side of the lake if the wind kicks up, so that’s something that has me concerned.

So, does anyone have any thoughts to share?

Thanks!

Yellowstone Lake.
Ive paddled on it a few times including an 8-dayer along the whole south shore from West Thumb/Grant Village to Sedge Bay—the roadless section. You made the comment that “we usually follow the shore so this would be something new”…well absolutely just the opposite!! You will still hug the shore the whole way as its the safest, most scenic and more effiecient than NOT staying close to shore.