Paddling Upstream

I am looking to paddle upstream up a fairly slow river (not whitewater at all). I borrowed a friend’s kayak, and I had a lot of trouble maintaining a straight path. I would be going upstream for a minute and then get rapidly turned towards a bank. I’m a novice, so I’m sure my form and technique was off. What should I do to keep going in a straight line better?

Also, it was a 10’ cheap sit inside kayak, and I had been considering one like it because they’re inexpensive and easy to deal with. Will a kayak like this be much harder to paddle upstream?

Besides technique, is it possible
that the kayak was trimmed light in the bow?

Any 10 ft kayak is slow
They are also about three feet wide. Any of these things chew up more effort over a distance than a narrower, longer boat.

Upstream
I love to paddle upstream, because the increased current reveals the hull’s characteristics/flaws.

That said, nothing under 12 feet can be made to glide and be controllable. And, roto-molded hulls are compromised because the things the mfg must do to keep them kinda stiff compromises forward speed and maneuverability.

On the other hand, we all start somewhere.

Bon chance, CEW

Non-aligned streams of current

– Last Updated: Sep-04-12 10:55 AM EST –

The current is rarely uniform in speed and direction at all locations across the width of a small river channel (or a big one, but small ones is where this is more likely to get confusing). Some of these nonuniform sub-currents become especially apparent when going upstream. What you describe is a common problem in hard-tracking boats trying to go upstream in swift water, but the same thing can happen traveling at slower speeds against a moderate current. If this is what is going on, you won't have the same problem on still water, so if you get a chance to try the boat on a pond or lake, that would help figure things out.