paddling with a 60lb dog?

I’m looking for my first Kayak so that my 60lb deaf Aussie Shepherd and I can enjoy day trips and weekend camp touring. Are there any suggestions for me to focus on while starting to look?

After moving from Chicgao, to Arizona recently, I decided to get back on the water, and try kayaking. Here are some specific needs:

• I’m 6’ 220lb

-Use on small to medium sized lakes, calm water, very little chance having to deal with getting stuck far from shore during storms, etc. But, there might be alot of fast motor boats, jet skis, so stablility a factor.

-day outings, with an ocassional 2-4 day camp touring with gear

-Absolute beginner to kayaking, so need a stable design

-Size/weight I can easily transport/load from car top.

I’m considering either a Kayak or Canoe. Hoping to look around for something used initially, then in a year or so, get a nicer one. Thanks for any direction, Nick

a number of possibilities
if you go canoe route choose one that has good secondary stability, and big enough you can place the pooch in an area that allows you to keep him towards the middle of the boat, if you go solo. I have a black lab 75 lbs. who is very mellow in the boat and will stay where I ask, but you may wish place some bags around your dog to keep his weight from shifting you all.

A number of folks rig deck platforms for their kayaks, but these are mostly for smaller dogs. If you go the kayak route either a hefty double, probably not worth it unless like to have humans share it sometimes also, or an open larger cockpit type cockpit can work fine.