Paddling with Ischial Tuberosity (sit bone pain)

Does anyone on here have this problem? I have several recreational kayaks, but cannot find one that is comfortable for this condition. I am currently using an Aylio “socket seat” cushion, and this helps a lot, but it is pretty thick. I need some suggestions for recreation kayaks that have very comfortable seats.

You can put a layer of foam on the seat with the holes cut out for both sit bones. I had this problem years ago and got a steroid injection into the bursa, which cured my issue.

I’ve read that physiotherapy can be helpful for your condition, so that might be worth exploring if you haven’t already.

I’ve no experience with rec kayaks, but will say none of the seats in my three touring kayaks are comfortable for more than an hour. To counter that, I bought a ThermaRest RidgeRest sleeping pad and cut a seat pad. It makes the seat more comfortable and doing daily piriformis stretches has been helpful as well.

The material is easy to work with and the ThermaRest is long enough to allow you to create a custom pad of several layers and cut-outs to fit your needs. Might be worth a shot; I paid $20 for mine and still have half the pad left.

Best wishes; it’s never fun to paddle when you’re in pain.

Thanks for the replies! I have been using the Aylio socket seat, and it helps a lot, but it is pretty thick. I have also been doing the piriformis stretches daily and it has helped some. I might look into getting a steroid shot. Not being able to sit for very long sure is a pain!

1 Like

It certainly is! And there’s not a thing wrong with paddling in close to shore so you can get out of your boat to take a standing snack break.