Painter Line Strength

I am outfitting my canoe and need to put some painter lines on it. I read something about 1/4" poly so I grabbed some at the local hardware store which has a tensile/safe working load strength of about 90 pounds. Is that enough? Do I need to go find some heavier duty rope? I did a quick search on the site here and did not see any recommendations about it.

It should be plenty
as long as you don’t put more than 90 lbs of force on it…

I am using a 3/8 braided line with a I believe about a 350 lb limit. I’m no expert on it, but I picked a line that should be able to suspend my boat in the air, with the expected maximum load in it.

However, it does not take much to exceed even 350 lb/ft of energy. Tie off the rope, drop the canoe even just a couple feet and you rapidly push the rope to its limit. I know there are stronger ones out there (Spectra, etc) but I figured that was plenty strong. It just depends how crazy you get with it.

As long as it floats.
I prefer 1/2 inch, easier on the hands.

Climber’s static line
is what I use - I think mine is 8mm. Has a very high tensile strength. If you will ever need to use either of these 2 lines for some type of rescue, you’ll appreciate the additional strength.

A canoe filled with water is very heavy and if one of these lines is used in recovering the boat it will be under a huge load.

Got mine at REI - purchased by the foot. Any good boat (sailing)store will also carry comparable line.

Breaking strength
Breaking strength of a line will probably be a couple of times greater than the listed strength (factor of safety, and all that). It doesn’t have anything to do with energy, however.

I wonder though
I had heard that there are two different types of breaking points for rope, one associated with a static load, and one associated with kinetic energy.