Painters for grabing when dumped

I can see the usefulness of a long painter in a throw bag to throw to another paddler in distress. However, it seems to me it must be out of the bag, tied to a thwart, so that if I get dumped the painter will be usefull to my situation. It does me no good in the bag floating away with my canoe. I am new to canoeing and have not yet been dumped. Do you carry two painters - one in the bag and one out of the bag?

Thanks.

Don

Different
Painters and throw ropes are different. I carry 15ft painter tied to the bow of my boat(kayak or canoe). In rougher cnditions I may also have a stern painter attached.

A throw rope is the one in the bag you are thinking of and that is the one used to throw to someone else.

You might do a search on here for previous posts, there have been some great discussions on material , lenght, etc. Throw rope needs to be practiced with…kim

Two Different Things…

– Last Updated: Jul-16-06 6:11 AM EST –

A "painter" is a short line tied to the ends. Useful for tying up the boat on a shoreline or towing a swimmer in. A throw bag has a long line inside. This is used to rescue a swimmer midstream, stuck in a hole, or flowing into a dangerous set of rapids. You can throw the bag from the boat if you have too. But, with a group, the stronger paddlers will run a difficult feature first, beached the boats on a shore and set up a safety by standing on a good vantage point where the throw bag can be tossed to someone who may flip on the feature and need a line to help swim to shore.

The throw bag needs to packed right. The bag provides weight to throw accurately. You hold one end of the line and, when the bag gets tossed, the rest of the line unfurls from the bag in a control way. Throw bag usage/tossing has to be practiced. You need to learn how to "lead" the swimmer. Otherwise, the bag/line will end up behind him/her.