Pakboats

Anybody have any experience with Pakboats? Especially the Puffin Line how is the quality? Are they durable?

I have read the reviews on paddling.net already.

http://www.pakboats.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=96&Itemid=150

comment…
I have no personal experience with these kinds of boats…I talked to a guy who had a tandem Folbot brand boat…He had some minor issues with connectors , nothing a trip to the local hardware store for a bolt couldn’t solve …he said the boat was durable. I takes him about 45 minutes to set-up and break down. He commented that the boat was slow, as would be expected.

Have a Pak-Boat
but its a canoe (the 170) and while its slow its flexible and rides over waves rather like a raft.

Alv Elveson is very reputable.

I bought my boat for fly ins which are becoming less hard shell friendly due to Transport Canada restrictions. Saves on the budget too.

The bottoms are quite durable but not quite as much as hardshell. I have heard of aborted trips in Labrador due to the boats inability to be dragged upstream in bony waters. For trips with sufficient water the kayak should be fine.

I have seen a Folboat destroyed on the Moose River after having to be dragged some 70 kms. Again low water was the culprit.

I’ve tried one
It was reasonably comfortable, but seemed really slow for a 15 foot boat. it seemed pretty durable but I wouldn’t drag one anywhere except on grass.

Intent
I would mainly use this boat only is situations where it would be very difficult to reach the put in with a hard shell boat. Last year while paddling in the Adirondacks I stopped to check out the launch at South Pond on RT 28/30 once I reached the put in at the bottom of a steep slope I found this serene body of water. But I would not even think of trying to get any of my hard shell yaks down or worse hauling them back up the hill. Do you think hitting that submerged rock that you can’t see would be a major issue?

no