Pamlico 100

Hi all.

Wondering if anyone has any insight on this boat, the 2005 model in particular. I’ve come across an extremely lightly used one and was curious as to the differences between the 2005 and 2006 models. I can’t seem to find a whole lot of information now that it’s all about the '06s. Should I purchase this boat, I plan on using it mainly for lakes and ponds with the occasional river, class I or II.

Thanks!

Kim

link :
http://wildernesssystems.com/kayaks/rec/pamlico100.php

I think the 05 and 06 pamlico 100 is basically the same. I have a Pamlico 140 and it’s a great kayak.

I saw the Pamlico 100 at Dick’s Sports

– Last Updated: Mar-18-06 8:04 AM EST –

just yesterday. It reminded me of Pamlico_140, a frequent and respected p-net contributor (and who, by happenstance, has replied to your query). I studied it pretty considerably and as an intermediate kyaker, I can comment that the seating and hatches are quite well constructed and appear comfortable (it was on the wall to I could not sit in it). Had molded plastic padded seats, and it looked like very nice set-up for a rec yak. The downside, as I saw it, was the weight. The rotomolded plastic is heavy relative to length... I think this 100 series was 10 feet and weighed about 42 lbs. A well made sea kayak, just for instance, in plastic would be 17 feet and about 56 lbs. At Dick's, the new pamlico_100 was, I think, about $300. Check Dickssports.com (I think that's it, you may have to google), to learn more about the boat. It would be good for rivers and creeking, but is short and very wide at 30 inches (wow, that is the fattest little kayak I have ever read specs on, thanks for the link Pamlico_140)so would likely have less than ideal tracking, and the energy you;d use for paddling it would be considerable to overcome it's beam and weight. The Pamlico140 is longer. Your biggest challenge might be, like many things in life, to determine if saving some $ and getting the used Pamlico100 would serve y