parts for new to me kayaks

I purchased 2 kayaks from a seller on Craigslist. My friend who is kayak savy went with me to evaluate them with me. I have some questions that I just don’t know where to start. I am very new to kayaking and long term would like to take them for a kayak camping trip with my son and fishing. Any feedback is welcome as well as suggestions.

They are both Prism kayaks, one is an Aquaterra and the other is a Perception.

Here are my questions:

o Where can I get new scupper plugs for them? The Perception kayak is missing one. The Aquaterra is missing two and the plugs are clearly different for each.

o How much water is expected to get into the holds after being tipped and riden? It seems to be about a liter or two of water that gets into the holds after a day of use.

o Should I replace the gaskets for the holds? What are the signs of wear to look for?

o I like the handles on the side that the Perception has on it. Can I install handles on the Aquaterra?

o Is there a good hand held bilge pump that I should get to best remove the water from the holds?

Anything else I should be asking?

Here are links to the pictures of the kayaks and the stand I built:

http://imgur.com/a/gc3Jk

Your kayaks
You can make your own plugs out of rubber stoppers, just drill a hole through the rubber stoppers that can be bought at almost any hardware store and string a loop of cord through the plug with a metal back up washer to make it easy to remove the plugs.

A little bit of water sneaking in your kayak is pretty normal unless every rivet or screw is well sealed and it’s not easy to perfectly seal out all the water. I uses a boat sponge to de-water mine.

Replacing the gaskets on the hatches may or may not help with keeping water out, those gaskets may not seal all that well even when new.

You should be able to put handles on any poly kayak just by either using well-nuts or by using good pop rivets with back up washers.