Pelican Potomac 14.6

-- Last Updated: Jul-02-09 3:39 PM EST --

Anyone have experience with this canoe. They sell it at Dicks. I'm new to the sport and was looking for something inexpensive to start out with.

Thanks
David

It depends…
on what you have in mind as far as what you want to do in the boat. What kind of activities, how many people and/or animals, how much weight, etc., etc., etc.

requirements
I was looking for 2-3 people for general lake/pond use and maybe some river use. I will also use it for some fishing. I’d like to keep it under 16’ and around 80lbs.

This model seems to fit the bill, but I wanted to know more about it since there are no reviews anywhere.

Well…
First of all, I’ll preface this by saying I haven’t paddled that boat. I’ve seen it in Dick’s, just wandering around the store browsing, and I have paddled boats that I would consider to be similar.

The first thing is the weight. From what I can find, the spec weight on this boat is 65 lb. The actual boat will probably be a few pounds heavier than that, but should be comfortably below your 80 lb limit. If you’re going to trailer the boat, it won’t be a problem. If you’re going to put it on top of your car, you’ll probably want help. It’s doable by yourself, but it’s not fun.

The boat might be a little small for what you want. As a solo fishing platform on ponds, small lakes, or slow rivers, it would be fine. You put 3 people in that boat, unless one of them is a small child, and it will be crowded. I think the listed capacity is 800 lbs – but realistically you probably won’t want to put much more than 500 or 600 lbs in it. For 3 adult-sized people, most people seem to recommend at least 17 feet.

As a short, fairly wide boat, it will be pretty slow. Again, it depends what you want. A leisurely cruise down a slow river, or just hanging out on a lake, it would be fine. If you wanted to cover any serious distance, you might look for something else.