Penobscot or something else?

Which is the best royalex boat for ACA WW downriver racing in formula 16? Does everyone use the Penobscot? Is there a better option? How about the Wenonah Spirit II? If I plan to solo, is the 16ft Penobscot a better choice than the 17ft? Anybody have the boat I need for sale? Thanks!

Nelson, what does the number in
"Formula 16" imply?? Is using a 17 foot boat an option?

After going in and reading the rules
I don’t think I would run a Penobscot as my first choice. I think I would lean to something around 15’ (assuming a solo boat) set up with a center seat. Something closer to a WW canoe. Maybe a Mohawk Odyssey or equivalent. A little rocker, slightly narrower and lighter than a Penobscot.

I don’t know how far you are from me,
but I have a Penobscot 16 that we just finished outfitting for tandem down river WW.

If you want to meet some time, we can rig a temporary seat for solo and you can try it out.

I tried it solo and it didn’t seem good for me, but I am only 5’-9"

The better paddlers such as Willim McDuffe race the 16 solo and win all over the place, but he is very tall.

I have not looked into the solo aspect too much, since I am usually racing tandem with my wife, but I would like about a fifteen footer, royalex and narrow if one exists.

I raced my daughters little 14 foot Sandpiper in the New River to a third place, but it was definately too short to get good racing speed out of.

Cheers,

JackL

Formula 16
This is the ACA formula for width to length. They have two classes: Formula 16 requires width to be at least 16% of length and allows only plastic boats. THe sleeker F14 class requires a width of at least 14% of length and allows composite boats.

WW vs flatwater boat
To be competitive in these downriver races you have to have a sleek, almost rockerless boat like the penobscot. But the rules set minimums on width to length and allow only plastic boats for the standard formula 16 class.

16 ft penobscot