penobscot stems

I was looking for a used 16 ft.old town penobscot at an outfitters. I noted that the stems on the majority were split. Is this common?

What “is” common…

– Last Updated: Jul-06-07 7:18 PM EST –

Outfitters canoes = damaged canoes.

Outfitters canoes are rented for a fee.
The majority of people who rent outfitter's canoes do not feel any sense of ownership in the canoe they use. They are not much concerned about the damage that occurs to the canoe.
It is, after all, not "their" canoe.
That combination equals damaged canoes.

Do I think that the problem is inherent in Old Town Penobscot 16 canoes?
Nope!

My Penobscot 15 is 12 years old, and in fine condition. Rarely used/never abused.

I think it is noteworthy that so many outfitters use Old Town canoes. I don't think there choice is a coincidence; more likely because Old Town canoes will take a lot of abuse.

BOB

Not on mine
I have a Penobscot 16 that’s about 7 years old, and she’s lovely. No splits, or issues other than some scars on the bottom from running rivers.

If you abuse any boat, you’ll cause damage of some sort or other. I’d ask owners rather than outfitters about the boat’s durability. You’ll get a more real-world opinion there.

nor mine
I have a Penobscot 17, 10 years old, and same experience as above. I would certainly buy another one for an all around family canoe that paddles reasonably well and hold up to hard use.

An outfitter’s boats get abused, BUT
if several are split deep or clear through the stem, that may be a sign they are old and brittle, rather than that they were abused in a way that Royalex boats usually can’t handle.