Perception 13.5 vs. Wilderness 14.5

Hi! I’ve recently started shopping for my first kayak and have a few questions. I think I’m looking for a day touring kayak and have begun narrowing down the selection of boats at the local shop.

I felt pretty comfortable in both the Perception Carolina 13.5 (poly) and Wilderness Tsunami 14.5 (also poly), though my size 11 shoes fit a bit better in the Wilderness. (I’m 5’11" and about 180 lbs.) I paddled the Wilderness for about 5 min before I went swimming :slight_smile: But I don’t consider that a fair test of the boat, just my (lack of) paddling experience.

(1) Is there much difference in quality between these two boats, or any similar boats?

(2) Is sitting in a kayak on the shop floor any indication of how comfortable it will feel in the water?

(3) Being a complete newbie, will I be able to tell the difference between the above boats, and for that matter, any similar boats?

(4) I will be going to a demo at the local shop this weekend. When I paddled the Tsunami, I was more concerned about not tipping over than the feel of the boat. As a beginner, what should be my concerns in purchasing my first kayak? I’m not (too) afraid of a tippy kayak as I look forward to a more ‘intermediate’ boat. Or should I have a more conservative attitude?

Thanks for all your thoughts!

Todd.

Lessons
(1) Both Perception and WS make good product. As of a few days ago they are now owned by the same company.

(2) Not really. You’ll get some idea of how the seat feels, foot and leg space and other cockpit issues, but no boat feel.

(3) Maybe. You might sence that something is different, but with no experience you probably won’t be able to put any meaning to the difference.

(4) Neither of these boats is regarded as “tippy”, so you’ll probably quickly get used to either.