Perception Carolina changes?

-- Last Updated: May-27-07 9:36 PM EST --

I heard from a Cdn retailer that there had been changes to this boat for the '07 model year, making it slower and less responsive. This boat (rotomolded version) was on my shortlist for a first boat, but if this is true...

Has anyone tried one of the '07 Carolinas?

Tks

I hope not
I have an older Carolina and still love it

whenever I take someone out kayaking, I let the use my Carolina. Someday I’ll put a rudder on it, but for now I have 4 different people waiting for me to have a day off so they can kayak with me. Carolina 14.5 is underrated but a fantastic boat for beginners.

maiden voyage in Perception Carolina 14
I just returned from my maiden voyage in my new '07 Perception Carolina! I don’t know that I can help you much though because I am a very new beginner and don’t know much about the kayak anyway. I took it to a small lake and it seemed to do okay for me. I did seem to list to the right but that was probably me and not the kayak. Not having had a different one to compare with leaves me kinda not much help! But - I have to say I made it without capsizing and I only got my feet a bit wet on entry and exit! I need a lot of work on my paddling skills though…

don’t believe
everything you read.

why would we re-design it to be slow and un-responsive? oh yeah and we made it waaaayyy less stable too.

There is plenty of discussion in the archives. The Carolina is totally re-designed for ‘07. It’s quieter and more effecient moving thru the water and the stability platform is much improved over ‘many’ ol’ Carolinas…there are a BUNCH…some good, some bad and some so-so. IMO the new ones are the best and why NOT? modern design tools and testing has made us a BETTER Carolina.

Give it a try!

steve

R/D TEAM -Confluence Watersports

Quieter
I like that idea. Reduce that bow wave gurgling.

Carolina 14.5