Perception Tribute 12.0 in ocean?

Hello!

I’m relatively new to paddling, this is being my third boat in about 2 years. My GF and I purchased a couple of used kayaks, Dagger Edistso’s with rudders. HUGE boats and heavy, but actually very nice boats. We sold them. Main reason is that they were simply too heavy together, never mind individually, and we want to be able to get boats we can take out by ourselves on the local lakes.

Next boat we owned, breifly was a Ellie Sound 100. Too short and wide. Turned well, but had almost no “glide” and tracked very poorly plus it leaked and was very flimsy. We returned that boat immediately and got our money back.

Finally ended up buying a Perception Tribute 12.0 for my GF. What a sweet little boat! Small and light weight (about 40 lbs.) but it handles and glides like a much bigger boat, perfect for a small person such as her…and me! I ended up ordering one for myself despite the “woman specific” marketing and I’m glad I did. The boat is small enough for one person to handle and since both of us are under 140 lbs., and 5’6" or under, the boat handles amazing. Of course, I have my eye on a Seda or a QCC for something along those lines down the road, but for now, for learning, for “beating up a bit”, these boats are perfect for us.

So far, we’ve only taken them out on the lake. Perfect. I would also feel very comfortable taking these boats out on the bay. It has a sealed rear bulkhead and a forward foam pillar. Of course, we wear PFD’s.

My question for you experienced paddlers, especially those of you in the So Cal area, can you tell me if the boat would be OK to take out in the surf and or where one would take a sea kayak? Would this boat be OK, for instance, for my GF and I to explore the La Jolla sea caves and the rock gardens around Sunset and surf at Swami’s?