PFD help please

Hi there. This is my first time on this forum. Because I have the best and most understanding wife on the planet, we will be driving down to Minneapolis (we are from Manitoba) to pick up a Bell BlackGold Northstar and a Bell BlackGold Magic. I’ve just kissed goodbye to any possibility of ever retiring. Broke the bank for this and I’m betting we will never be sorry. And for some strange reason, our grown up kids (and their kids) all pushed us to go for it too. Are they thinking they will ever be allowed in these boats? Well, actually that’s one reason why we feel good about doing this; it will be a family affair!

We haven’t canoed for a good number of years but are now getting back into it. Our problem right now is in finding good quality PFDs that don’t break the bank, or what little is left of it. We want something that will be comfortable to wear, and provide the best protection for our kids and grandkids (and us) and yet not spend more money than necessary. Are there any particular brands and models that we should be looking at/for? It’s -38C / -36F right now, but that gives us time to hunt down the right stuff. Looking forward to your help.

Congrats on the great new boats!
I’m envious.

Regarding good PFDs that don’t break the bank, I’ve be pleased with my MTI Orleans that I’ve been using for the last couple years. At retail of $60.00, I haven’t found any others that seem any better for anywhere near that price. http://www.shopgetoutdoors.com/paddling_gear/life_jackets/mtiorleans.html

I just shopped around and was
impressed with the moderate prices of MTI.

If possible, buy in a retail store where you can try on the PFDs and make paddling motions, crossing your upper arm over to feel for bunching under that arm. I’ve bought a couple of PFDs sight unseen over the internet that were disappointments in spite of the reputations of the makers.

The MTI Orleans is good for paddle