PFD - What's the square thing for?

Hi

A question will reveal that I am still a beginner :slight_smile: I keep forgetting to ask when I am at the local kayak dealer.

What is the plastic square quizmo sewn/glued/welded into the fabric on the chest of the pfd’s for?

(It has slits on all four sides.)

Thanks for the info

Nick

Topeka, KS

to attache a knife sheath to it.

or anything with a spring clip…

As kanaka said…
The square thingy normally captures the spring clip or nylon strap of a fixed blade knife.

The knife can be real life saver for cutting off a spare oar(as in the middle of a class IV drop on the Bruneau)… cutting an entangled line in the middle of a rapid (mostly rafting maneuvers) or even cutting through a kayak’s Tupperware hull to clear an entrapment… truly a real life saver when it’s needed… having it strapped to your PFD makes it a one handed draw.

Be careful however… after you cut loose the oar trying to place it back in the sheath so close to your neck in the middle of a rapid, can be a bit dicey.

They’re also good for rapidly deflating an inflatable as well as cutting cheese and sausage for lunch :slight_smile:

It’s called a “lash point”…

– Last Updated: Jul-17-06 8:26 PM EST –

... or "lash tab", and you can use it to mount most anything... knife, line cutter, sea snips, vhf radio, watch, barometer, portable margarita maker, etc.

--David.

It’s a bottle opener
You can use it to attatch a knife or something, but then it will be harder to open your beer.

portable margarita maker
Where do I get one of thoes :slight_smile:

Gas Powered or Crank?

Electric…
You just need to mount an auto battery in your front hatch…

http://tinyurl.com/qbtob

The attached object can also get
in the way if you are crawling onto your back deck doing a paddle float reentry.

Many rescue knives don’t have points - only blades.

Or a light
My small yellow steady light lives on a back tab of my PFD, the front one at times carries a strobe.