Photography from a Sea Kayak

Hi all,

I’m a fairly serious amateur photographer and also getting seriously into sea kayaking (though I am still fairly new at the kayaking). I cannot imagine taking my good camera and lenses out on the water. For one thing, I never go out on the water without practicing self-rescues, so anything on or in the boat is bound to get dunked sooner or later. Train as you fight, right?

Waterproof housings for my gear are prohibitively expensive, so I’ve been looking at the Olympus TG-6, which seems to be about the best of the “affordable” waterproof cameras. But comments like this kept popping up in reviews I read of this camera: “the image quality is good, maybe not as good as your cell phone camera, but the whole point is it’s waterproof and your cell phone is not”. So it occurred to me… why not get a waterproof housing for my phone instead?

This led me to the SeaLife SportDiver housing. It’s not cheap but it does cost about $150 less than the Olympus. It works via Bluetooth, using a dedicated app to control the phone’s camera. This may not come with the bells and whistles of the TG-6 but I wasn’t interested in those anyway: I just want to be able to take good-quality images from the boat and not have to worry about destroying my gear.

So, my question is this: has anyone got either of these products, and if so, what do you think of them? Are there any other options you might be able to recommend?

At this point I am leaning towards the SportDiver but would be very interested to learn others’ thoughts. Thank you in advance, and sorry for the long post!

I have the older version of the camera, the TG-3. It works well for what it is, a waterproof, rugged camera that takes good snapshots. It has no viewfinder, so to compose you have to look at the back screen, which can be problematic in strong light. But I can take pictures under water, knock it around, and it is fine. I keep it around my neck typically.