Photography with a Kayak

I am a fine artist who uses her kayak to go out and capture photographs on the water. I have an Old Town Loon 106 (which I love), but struggle with maintaining direction while photographing. I am thinking about installing a food guided rudder on the back. Old Town does not have a rudder for this particular boat, so I will have to find a generic one.

Any advice out there? Thanks! :smile:

Hmm… is a “food guided rudder” sort of like dangling a carrot on a stick? :wink:

I think we need to know more about where you’re going and the conditions encountered, but my first thought is that you need a longer boat. You might want to consider a bottom anchor or a sea anchor. Holding a stationary position isn’t easy in many conditions, so you might need to take less time framing the shots, take many more, and pick the better ones later.

Not many recreational class kayaks (what your Old Town counts as) come with rudders, or have kits to add rudders. Kits can be added, but without having the spots in place for them (bolt mounts, rudder cable traces, etc.) it can be a rather challenging process.

I do minor work myself, but am not up for doing major work. If you are like me, better would be to look for a replacement kayak that comes with a rudder. If you wanted to go this route, you likely are going to have to move up to a kayak that is kind of a transition between a recreational class and a day touring class. One that comes to mind is the Necky Looksha 12 or 14 series. Necky brand has been stopped from the manufacture (though the company still makes kayaks under other brands, so spare parts and warranty would still hold), but there may be some still in stock (an now discounted) at dealers, and also often available used.

I think a rudder is not useful. I do lots of photography from the water and as I take wildlife pix I have to be as motionless as possible. . A rudder only works if you are moving.

You need an anchor more than a rudder.