Photography

I am a photographer and have been struggling with photographing while kayaking, so I’m looking for suggestions from others. I have tried keeping my DSLR in a dry bag on my deck but pulling it out of the dry bag while I’m on the water and taking the chance of it going over board makes my heart stop. So I keep it and all my photo gear in dry bags in the hatches and just use it when I’m on land. Recently I bought a water proof pouch for my cell phone in hopes of testing it see how it does. Though on a recent trip I didn’t like the quality of photos I was getting and my phone has one of the best camera phones out there. A fellow photographer bought a waterproof point and shoot to take in his boat but returned it after he didn’t like the quality.

So I’d like to see what other DSLR shooters are using while in their boats. I thought of a dive housing but they are stupid expensive so not really practical for me.

waterproof case/enclosure
These are available for better DSLRs. Prices are, of course, eye opening

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/browse/Underwater-Equipment/ci/11585/N/4294551294

Aquapac also makes cheaper, less resilient cases.

http://www.aquapac.net/worldstore/water-photo-slr-case-861-0.html

B&H photo
The DICApac looks like a good option. I might go with that. Though it sucks to spend $85 on something then have to run a bunch of test to see if it works before relying on it on a trip. I guess there is eBay if it doesn’t work as well as I would like

My Hubby
just hangs his Canon 50D around his neck & off he goes. He does have it insured. If it goes in the drink he loses the photos he took that day. If he doesn’t take it for fear of getting it wet or losing it, he misses all the photos he could have taken.

Deck bag

– Last Updated: Apr-20-11 10:45 AM EST –