Physics of kayaking

Alright, here’s the deal. To give a short introduction, my name is Alex and I am a highschool student in Eastern Canada. I am in my senior year, and as a last project for Physics 120 we are to take something from the real world and apply the use of physics to it. I, paddling for four years now decided to do it on kayaking.

At home, we currently own two Necky Zoar Sport kayaks and I thought that I could do something regarding them, and the experiment has been approved. I just need to figure out how I am going to pull it off properly, because quite frankly I need these marks.

The experiment that I was thinking of doing was using a personal GPS system to measure out a distance on the cove just meters from my house, and use the GPS again to find my velocity over the distance. Then perhaps, put weight into the storage compartment and try it again to find an acceleration vs. mass thing. The experiment doesn’t exactly have to be all that groundbreaking, as you can tell.

I know that Newton’s second and third laws come into play while paddling a kayak, due to pushing against the water and the water then propelling you forwards, and I know that torque is there in the way that the paddle works as a lever arm. I was just wondering, if there is something more than I can find (if you search Kayaking physics, one site comes up and that’s where I found force orque but there really isn’t that many kayaking resoruces on the net) out about the whole deal.

Topics

– Last Updated: Apr-12-06 12:57 PM EST –

You could use a heart-rate monitor as a rough measure of power output, and compare that to speed or acceleration.

You could calculate the torque produced on the boat by different paddle lengths or distances from the centerline to show why it's harder to paddle straight with a long paddle, or a low-angle stroke.

You could look at the height of the center of mass versus roll stability.