Piccolo or Tsunami SP for petite adult?

I’m a beginner and looking to get a used kayak for sea kayaking (mostly around Boston, e.g., Boston Harbor).

I’m pretty small at 5’0" and 105 lbs and was thinking about a used Wilderness Systems Piccolo or Tsunami SP.

After searching on this board, it sounds like people feel the Tsunami is a better design. But will I have trouble keeping up with my husband if he’s in a 16’ kayak? The Tsunami SP is 12’ and 38 lbs, the Piccolo is 13.5’ and 45 lbs.

Which would you recommend? (or would you recommend something different? I have to store the kayak outside all year, so I need something reasonably robust and not too precious.) Thanks!

Keeping up and other stuff

– Last Updated: Aug-08-11 8:27 AM EST –

If you guys start out figuring that it is your job, as a completely new paddler, to keep up with your husband, who apparently has some time in a boat, it'll be a frustrating and short experience for you. There's more to paddling than the boat, like the paddler's stroke and knowing how to paddle in wind, and it would be unrealistic to think that you could match that all up right away. For at least a while, he should figure on keeping back with you.

Biggest recommendation, get a smaller size blade, as light as you can afford, so that you can paddle with a fast cadence. You'll actually be slowed down by a big huge blade.

Next to the boat - you are tiny so that's a limited set. But you want a couple of basic features for sea kayaking like two sealed bulkheads and full perimeter rigging. These things help turn a capsize in the ocean into a non-event. Without this stuff, it can be a newspaper story.

The Tsumani SP has this stuff, the Piccolo does not. Of the two, the Tsunami is the only boat that comes set up for sea kayaking. It is shorter than your husband's boat but it is also narrower, so to some degree the boat's own speed should be comparable to that of a longer boat. What does your husband paddle?