Picking a kayak - odd criteria?

-- Last Updated: Sep-05-16 7:52 AM EST --

I am presently shopping for my first kayak, and doing my best to research my options so as to hopefully not make a bad choice. I'm new to kayaking, but no stranger to the sea, I've been sailing for 20+ years.

I'm looking for a boat to serve as a companion to our sailboat, which lives on a mooring pretty far out in a large harbor on the north shore of Massachusetts. Something I can paddle around the harbor and surrounding coastal areas, and also use as a shuttle between the boat and shore.

This purpose leads to a pretty significant criteria: I need something stable enough that I can stand up in to climb in and out to get from the kayak up to the sailboat and vice-versa. It's a 36' sailboat and the deck is about 3' off the water. I'm 6'1", 190#, and agile enough to be able to make that step, I just need a 'yak that's stable enough and a cockpit I can climb out of easily enough to do it.

Being in cool New Engand waters, a sit-in seems to make the most sense. As much as I lust for the sexy long and skinny sea kayaks, I don't think they really suit my purpose that well; I can't imagine trying to get out of that tight cockpit and standing to climb up into the sailboat.

I do want a bit more performance than a typical rec kayak. I want something fun to paddle that I'll want to spend time in and could do some good distance with. There's lots to explore and I don't want the boat to discourage me from exploring.

The boat that has really caught my eye is the WS Pungo 140. I like the big cockpit opening. I know that's a liability and this isn't a open-water boat, but on rough/windy days I'm going to be sailing anyway.

Any thoughts or suggestions for this newb?

Not a Pungo